Deviant Wave – not all waves of the sea soothe you!

Each time that I strive for answers, the changing colors of the sea tell me that I am not alone in my dubiety! That I too like the sea, am a creation of leisure that has always been interpreted in haste!

A year gone by and I still haven’t learnt …

To refer to you in past tense like all others …

To not allow my voice to quiver and eyes to blur each time I write something about you …

To not feel giddy when I sit on that bed, on which I have created some of my bestest childhood memories …

To come to open that “treasure chest” you so safely guarded, for I know that I would break down when I see the contents (all our childhood “complaint” letters to you neatly stocked and a lot more)…

To fight the urge to instinctively reach for the phone and call you every morning …

To not crave for the sandalwood smelling white linen and the frail fingers that used to put me to the most peaceful sleep…

To not kiss those never-ending debates and fights and you keeping an account of what all to reimburse from the man I marry…

To not wonder at your last promise to me and think if you really meant it…

To not thank you at your parting gift and hate you for not sticking around to see it …

To touch a chocolate today and not cringe at the thought of lighting an incense stick!

To accept that the seeds of creativity, thought you had sewed flourished in the book, yet you are not there to read it. My favorite story is on our relationship, and yet whenever I read it aloud, I feel there’s so much I have missed to tell…

To come to imagine that the little pair of feet that totters around the house doesn’t have you around to spoil her. It’s difficult to imagine a child being raised in the family without having your hand around. She’d know you I’m assured but then only I know what she misses out on …

To not crave every single day that I’d give up anything to hear you call me out by that special name once … Just once!

To come to terms with the fact, that it’s been a year of losing my childhood!

 P.S: It’s good to have a clear memory, but sometimes when you can narrate a day minute by minute and re-live through tear-stained eyes and see it in your dreams, you just wish the calendar skipped a date, maybe then it would all be a nightmare and life would be the same again!

 

8 comments on “A year gone by and I still haven’t learnt …

  1. Privy Trifles
    February 5, 2012

    A very beautiful yet touchy article……moved me to tears ……Loved reading each word as it reminded me of someone very close whom I also lost recently.

    • deviantwave
      February 20, 2012

      Thanks Pri … I dunno what to say in reply but just Hugs!

  2. UmaS
    February 6, 2012

    Hugs my dear !!

    Beautifully written…and I know deep inside my heart that she is there watching over you – your Angel, who makes wonderful things happen to you.

    • deviantwave
      February 20, 2012

      Thank you for the phone call and letting me cry my heart out – thank you for always being there! :)

  3. Comfy
    February 9, 2012

    I think there are somethings that never get better. Some hurt that never heal. Sometimes I just hate life for going on when something so important is missing.

    I understand what you are trying to write and how I wish a certain date never ever shows up again. Hugs!

    • deviantwave
      February 20, 2012

      Hi Comfy, it’s been a long year of being out of touch. Bugz came and almost grew up but couldn’t wish you. Couldn’t hold you hand virtually when you needed it .. but yes the same thoughts crossed my mind as I typed this. Big hugs to you and we do have a LOT of catching up to do! :)

  4. Pingback: P.S: Don’t stop talking to me in my head please, that is what keeps me going! « Deviant Wave – not all waves of the sea soothe you!

  5. Pingback: Mumbai Mondays 18 – Drops Of Sunshine On A Rainy Day, Is What Mumbai Is All About! « Deviant Wave – not all waves of the sea soothe you!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on February 5, 2012 by and tagged , , , , , .

Hyderabad Literary Festival 2012

Mumbai Mondays

A Calendar Too Crowded Facebook Connect

Blogadda interviews moi!

A Lot of Pages chit-chat

Times of India Celebrating Womanhood feature

Review by Youth24x7 website

A Calendar Too Crowded on Social Potpourri

Article on B’Khush on The Purple Pact

Tangy Tuesday Picks

Guest Post for Blogadda

Spicy Saturday Picks

A Calendar Too Crowded – Book Trailer (audio)

Book of the Month – March 2012 – by Writer’s Melon

Special review by Mutiny.in

Indus Ladies interviews me!

Love is in the Air Contest!!!

A tribute to my GOD

Blogadda Book Review Progra

International Women’s Day 2012 – page dedicated to me

Special Women’s Day review by Socks and Shoes

Happy in conversation with B’khush

Mother’s Day Pick

When I wooed a superstar …

Interview on Doordarshan

Flipkart link to the book

Article in Economic Times – March 2012

Women’s Day Special Article on Women Empowerment

The Purple Pact – the other baby

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 347 other followers

