Deviant Wave – not all waves of the sea soothe you!

Each time that I strive for answers, the changing colors of the sea tell me that I am not alone in my dubiety! That I too like the sea, am a creation of leisure that has always been interpreted in haste!

(Project) Childhood – 1 left. 2 warriors- Me and Didi. A million obstacles.

There’s an uncanny sense of being around what I call home. Uninhibited speaking of the mother tongue after almost half a year – stranger it feels than it sounds. Maybe if she could speak she would have pointed out that the already strange accent is stranger. But she would also comment that it sounds honey to her ears. She spoke those words today too – through a gentle finger tug as I narrated her our favourite childhood memories.

I have NEVER stayed in this house alone – where was the scope? The babyji was always feared to be lost in her Neverland and then it took 2 ‘mashis’ to cull her out of the ‘box room’ (attic) or from behind the curtains. Today without her eyes hovering over me, I feel lost even in her room. The sense of security came in moving about holding the edge of her white saree and listening to sermons of how ‘little’ girls from good Bengali families should grow up to be ‘fine young ladies’. Definitely, without tea I tell myself, as a freshly brewed Darjeeling cuppa grows cold beside me. Untouched, till Chotoma takes it away.

Curtains – I have always loved them in her room. Pseudo peek-a-boo we used to play as she called me out for long elaborate summer luncheons. I have never really been a foodie. But then again was also never really smart – for despite the figurine being apparent behind the curtain I really thought she couldn’t see me. Pretend Play is soothing still as I shed a tear standing behind the curtain today. Was it then that she stirred for the first time today, after 30 hours of coma – she who can never see me cry!

A tattered Enid Blyton and Snow White and the Seven Dwarfs – my first books, still kept in exact shape and size!!! Why do they emerge today as I crawl under her bed to search for a slipped out ‘pill’ – do they say I need to emerge a winner in Project Childhood today, no matter what?

Why did I dream of the Ghoom Monastry yesterday – maybe because there I had pestered her for the ice cream (with one foot submerged in snow). Or maybe because the hilly terrain was where I promised her an ice cream after I grew up – uphill task that is still, but how can she leave without the ice cream?

An old toffee box – those tinned ones that were shipped in from Britain and won by one of her children in school, still stores her home-made Scrabble letters. In 1950s’ Scrabble was the ‘sahib’ game and we had no relatives who could bring us off shore games. So would her children then remain bereft off it? The cut out letters pasted on cubes of card board speak the rest. My childhood afternoon reminiscences are captured on a few too – mango juice stains of little fingers.

A sitar in the corner, the harmonium I pumped once, the trunk of treasures – the letters we wrote to her in childhood in Bengali, a failed attempt to teach us the language. The smell of Charmis I still feel on her cheek, the Boroline tube that I religiously use on her lips still. A tinge of mustard oil for the winter feet cracks. A spoonful of chocolate milk – her only vice. I do everything to assure her that there’s my childhood still around and hence she can’t be really old!

Wrapped in white shawl lies my childhood, as I sit in vigilance. Sometimes you fear that even cracks in the wall are enough to steal away things. Today I sit with the door open – let’s see how Ms. childhood leaves, when still the last fairy tale is left to be narrated to Calvin.

Project Childhood – 1 left. Pray. Am out here to save the last link from breaking.

——————–

A blog snob post – Please don’t mind the non reply to comments. The Project really needs a successful completion. Nothing else matters now.

19 comments on “(Project) Childhood – 1 left. 2 warriors- Me and Didi. A million obstacles.

  1. Deboshree
    February 3, 2011

    I feel Overwhelmed. Maybe I’ll come back later.

  2. UmaS
    February 3, 2011

    Oh my dear….hugs to you !!! Wish I was there with u to give the same hug in person.

    Of course, I am praying…have not stopped for a moment…

    How close we are with GMs !!! How God created such a wonderful bonding !!! Its a treasure – every moment with GM !!! Prayers and hugs….take care.

    • deviantwave
      February 8, 2011

      GMs r why we r here … Wish I could let her know how lost I feel :(

  3. Tanishka
    February 3, 2011

    Hugs sags… We all would be praying gal… Be brave…

  4. suranga
    February 3, 2011

    Be brave and strong, Sagarika. And keep the faith. she will be fine.

    Praying for you……..

  5. Nuttie Natters
    February 3, 2011

    Praying for you sags, ur childhood and your dadi…lots of love!!!

  6. Count Bratula
    February 4, 2011

    She will be ok in no time :)… Believe me..

    The battle’s not alone anymore….We are right behind u warrior princesses :)

    http://www.behappybear.com/webshaper/pcm/pictures/Anime%20Accessories/kung-fu-panda.jpg

    • deviantwave
      February 8, 2011

      I tried to believe but life deceived me yet again :(

  7. Chatterbox
    February 4, 2011

    Be brave and strong sweetheart..you are definitely not alone for all of use here are praying for you and your grandma.
    {{{{hugs}}}} sweetheart
    Have faith dear…for all will be fine very soon :D

    • deviantwave
      February 8, 2011

      Thanks CB … All became fine but not the way we wanted it … Life!

  8. Bikram
    February 4, 2011

    you take care girl .. ALL will be FINE .. have faith …

    • deviantwave
      February 8, 2011

      Thanks B … If only life listened to us! :(

  9. Swaram
    February 4, 2011

    Loads of hugs Sags! We are all with u and grandma! Praying and passing on the best of wishes! Take care.

    • deviantwave
      February 8, 2011

      Wish she stayed … No matter how selfish that sounds :(

  10. Pingback: P.S: Don’t stop talking to me in my head please, that is what keeps me going! « Deviant Wave – not all waves of the sea soothe you!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on February 3, 2011 by and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , .

Hyderabad Literary Festival 2012

Mumbai Mondays

A Calendar Too Crowded Facebook Connect

Blogadda interviews moi!

A Lot of Pages chit-chat

Times of India Celebrating Womanhood feature

Review by Youth24x7 website

A Calendar Too Crowded on Social Potpourri

Article on B’Khush on The Purple Pact

Tangy Tuesday Picks

Guest Post for Blogadda

Spicy Saturday Picks

A Calendar Too Crowded – Book Trailer (audio)

Book of the Month – March 2012 – by Writer’s Melon

Special review by Mutiny.in

Indus Ladies interviews me!

Love is in the Air Contest!!!

A tribute to my GOD

Blogadda Book Review Progra

International Women’s Day 2012 – page dedicated to me

Special Women’s Day review by Socks and Shoes

Happy in conversation with B’khush

Mother’s Day Pick

When I wooed a superstar …

Interview on Doordarshan

Flipkart link to the book

Article in Economic Times – March 2012

Women’s Day Special Article on Women Empowerment

The Purple Pact – the other baby

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 347 other followers

